I hit the wall in May

Ever been there? Let me clarify my funk in May. Everyone has bad days or a bad few days but when running becomes a grind for several weeks in a row then it is time for evaluation. May was a wall for me. I’m still not sure I can explain it but running the RNR Nashville Half Marathon in the rain was mentally exhausting. It is not what caused my wall but it was a catalyst that seemed to snowball.

I wasn’t enjoying running. I was cheering other people on in their journey but I was struggling to get my mind focused for each run. I knew there was a problem in the middle of May when with no physical ailments, I shut down a long run after five miles. I began at that point working with others and reviewing past training strategies to see where I was missing it. I spoke to Ali over at www.msprun.com who shared some of her struggles recently. I also talked to my running buddy Josh. Below are a list of things that have changed from before. I won’t tell you what changes I made moving forward because I want to hear your similar struggle and strategy to recharge.

icebreak

See my doctor: when I started back in 2010, the first thing we found was I had low testosterone. It was quickly addressed and helped me lose 35 lbs over the course of a year. I had given blood the first part of May and thought that could be part of my sluggishness. We checked my T just in case. ALl levels were fine so we continued with the regimen we have scheduled.

Fuel: I love sweets. Was I eating more sweets or had my habits become inconsistent in the area of food?

Sleep: I can tell you this one was a quick answer. I had allowed my sleep patterns to vary from night to night. This is going back to a routine. Asleep by 10 pm with no questions.

Stretching: I had been inconsistent with my pre run stretching and post run passive stretching. Some days I gave it a half hearted effort in warming up. That set the tone for the run.

Re-examine my WHY: This one should be a constant subject. Why do I run? Why do I post to social media? What is my strategy? What is the big picture goal that I am aiming to achieve? Knowing the WHY makes it easier to set the smaller goals and daily goals to achieve the overall purpose.

Friends: Who have I been listening to and repeating their thought process or pattern?

Naked: Some days I need to run with no agenda and no music. I need to focus only on what is around me and staying present in the moment for the moment.

Family and friends: Have I made the effort to invest in those that I love and cherish?

samford5k

What about you? How have you broken through a tough season of training or feeling mentally out of it? Leave comments below. Thank you for stopping by!

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Running
One comment on “I hit the wall in May
  1. RunStretchGo says:

    David, really great post! We have all been there, but you took it seriously and sounds like you are refocused and ready to rock again! In the past I’ve just stopped, which has led me to have to retrain my body for months before getting back to normal. No more! I love the feeling too much, some days or weeks just won’t be great!

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
