2,000 Nike Miles

2000 Nike Mile

Ran with my buddy Josh to cross the 2,000 mile mark on the Nike GPS app today. My friend, Jen West, is one of the original motivations for my running. As a way to honor her, here’s a few lessons I am learning in my running and life.

1. No one can run a mile for me.
2. Have a support system. We all need encouragement and motivation.
3. A great quote from Bart Yasso, “There are no shortcuts in running.”
5. Join a team. It makes you better. I’m a part of Further Faster Forever (click the link and join for free!)
6. Keep a journal. Don’t trust memories to provide you with accurate data. Refuse to critique your workout when you finish. The mind needs time to recover.
7. Emotions are like children, they are real but if you let them run the house everyone is screwed.
8. Develop a plan. Great athletes and leaders don’t allow emotions to dictate execution.
9. A good soundtrack for a run is either feet hitting the pavement or a conversation with a friend.
10. Know your “why.” This will trump your feelings and will dictate your action plan. I run for the sake of the gospel
and for the glory of Jesus.

Two of the main reasons I have reached this huge milestone, Nike Running and KT Tape. Thank you for the support.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace, Running
3 comments on “2,000 Nike Miles
  1. happytrigirl says:

    This is awesome David!! 2000 miles!!! ***applause!!!

  2. Polymath Pacer says:

    I’m at 1902 kilometers today. Trying to reach 2k km.
    My nikeplus name is polymath pacer.
    Send me a friend invite.
    Thanks.

  3. tessadelia says:

    Awesome job! It always feels good to accomplish a goal, and I love your list.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
