October recap and perspective

So many wonderful things from October took place. Work has been extremely busy and I was very focused on running instead of posting on the blog. I apologize for the delay in posting.

When running, I often reflect on what has helped me reach different milestones and goals. One of my biggest goals for this year was losing weight. After battling a nagging injury I needed to lose at least 30 pounds. I am proud to say that I have lost 37 pounds since Feb 23rd my birthday (hint for those of you taking notes.) One of the most effective ways that helped take the weight off was the way I viewed food. Shifting my focused from what I craved to instead what my body needed along with my running helped to transform my mind and body. So now when I look at a plate of food, I see protein, carbs, and fat instead of pasta with meatballs or chicken and rice, etc.

It is not only important what you eat but also when you eat it. Runner’s World Magazine has a great article about refueling just click here
Before a long run, my go to early morning meal is a bowl of captain crunch cereal. Different things work for different people. I challenge you to find out what works best for you and continue to examine your perspective on food.

Now for the brag section!
October was an awesome month for me! I logged 200 miles running (my most ever!) Was named Nike’s Runner of the Week on Facebook and Twitter, joined an awesome group called Further Faster Forever (join us here), logged my 1500th mile with the Nike GPS app, and continued to develop old and new friendships through running.

Remember to run with a clear mind and grateful heart!

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Running

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
