Why?

It can be a simple request for more information but can also be the deep questioning to find an anchor that willed be used as the catalyst in training. Whether you are aiming for your first couch to 5k, a 10k, a half marathon, 1st marathon, a personal best, duathlon, or even a triathlon you have asked yourself this question. Hopefully, you have come up with some answers. If not, maybe this post can help you.

Without conviction, in times of distress or difficulty, our confidence will break down and we will question our determination or ability.

I run because I dreamed about a goal so far beyond what I could imagine and I set out with a plan to achieve it. The first mile I ever ran as part of my training was October 6, 2008 with a time of 18:46. With hard work and determination, I ran my first half marathon four months later.

So why do I run?

I run because I want to be better. I want to be better as a brother, father, friend, co-worker, employee, and athlete. Running allows me to work through mental tapes that say things like; stop, not another hill, just take the day off, go easy, sleep in, or you deserve a break. My mind often tempts me with the easy road whether it’s work, home, or training.

I run because I want to find my limits and go beyond them. Is there any greater feeling than setting a goal, achieving it, and going beyond it? We all have greatness in us. Doesn’t our family, friends, and the world deserve our best so they can be their best?

So now it’s your turn. Tell us your why? Why do you (fill in the blank)?

Thanks for being part of #thewilltoprepare community.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Running

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
