Feeling the weight

This has been a prayer for me over the past few weeks when I was running on Saturday mornings. Decided to put it in writing.

Feeling the Weight

Dear Lord,
When I change clothes today, let me feel the weight of the homeless.
When I sit down to eat, let me feel the weight of the starving.
When I celebrate the joy, the taste, and the rebuke of your Word, let me feel the weight of those who have not heard.
When I run, let me feel the weight of those suffering physically.
When I tell my family that I love them, let me feel the weight of the widow and the orphan.
When I go about my job, let me feel the weight of the unemployed.
When I sink in despair, let me feel the weight of your glorious good news.
When I wage war on my sense of entitlement and pride, let me feel the weight of your suffering in Isaiah 53.
When I am tempted to boast, let me feel the weight of the mystery that you first acted on me to hear the gospel.

Amen

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace, Running
One comment on “Feeling the weight
  1. Calvin Kelly says:

    You have convicted me of my self-centeredness! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
