the power of words

Who doesn’t like to receive an encouraging note?  I am blessed to have people in my life who know that words of affirmation are my love language.  I treasure notes that I receive ranging from a thank you for singing at a funeral to a cute piece of blue paper calling me a “cool uncle.”  When I die, apart from my family and the relationships God has blessed me with, these are my greatest earthly possessions.

Love notes from sister and her family

Here is an excerpt of a letter I received from Joshua with Fiwagoh Mission Orphanage.  He is the oldest child there and is in charge of assisting Pastor Benson in oversight of all the children.

Halo ,This is Joshua from Fiwagoh ,
Thanks to God because we can breath.  WE miss you so much .
I miss you most . Thanks for letting God use you to visit us  and make a difference in My life thanks for the shoes I still treasure them.
I may not write so often but with the few times I write It will glory God,
Your lesson has been a great lesson for us,Especially “for work or vacation ? For the Lord!

Please greet you family I love them so much!!

And one more from Gladys,  a teacher at the Fiwagoh Orphanage School.  I had the privilege to lead the teachers in Bible Study each day before they taught the kids.

letters from Fiwagoh orphanage children and in the back are letters from step brothers and friends.

Dear brother David,
I am teacher gladys from fiwagoh.how do you do? i am, fine in the name of our lord Jesus Christ.hope you too.how was your journey back to U.S.A ?hope fine through our almighty father.
How did you find Africa? especially kenya in fiwagoh? we still remember you and you are still fresh in our minds.especially when you took us through 3 days devotion.we still remember the favourite Bible verse(Eph 2:8) for sure you really inspire us.Especially myself i got encouraged with your teachings and sometimes i tend to think if it were only here on earth,how about when we will meet our Heavenly father?
Let us pray that you may make the advancement of the kingdom our highest intrest.that we may let no pursuit interefer with our wholeheartedly serving the lord, and wholeheartedly believe that the lord will provide for all our needs I miss you big and hope to meet you very soon.if not here in earth,then we will meet in heaven.have wonderful moments and always depend upon God for He is great and wonderful.
with Calvary love

I hope you will take some time this week to encourage someone.  You never know what power those words will have in their life.

two shelves with Christmas cards from precious friends, a birthday note from my sister, and letters from the Fiwagoh children.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Grace

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
