Inspiration in running

Love Nike+ GPS

When I started running, I set several goals for myself.  I wanted to run 3 half marathons in a year, check.  I wanted to complete 1000 miles.  Lastly, I wanted to complete 300 runs.  As of today, I completed my 300th run with Nike+ GPS!!!  I am so excited.  Now I have several new goals: that 1000th mile, reach 200 hours, and run a half marathon with my sister in the fall.  When running, I think about four things:

1. My family and friends

2. Successes and goals

3.  Grace

4.  Who and what inspires me

Throughout all the runs, I have learned  valuable lessons and found tools that have helped me to stay committed.

Lesson 1:  Never chase a Kenyan.  I am not fast but I am a runner.  I can only run my race.

Lesson 2:  No one can run your miles for you. You have to put in the time, planning, and dedication to reach your goals.

Lesson 3:  Running is a mental discipline.  My mind wandering is often exposed with doubts or daydreams.  I have to train my mind to focus.

Lesson 4:  Learn from others.  There is great inspiration out there from tips, stories, and videos of how to improve.

Lesson 5:  Medals are given for finishing, not starting.  People may not remember how we start something but they remember how and if we finish.

Lesson 6:  Have an expert fit you for your shoes.  Nike LunarGlide+ 3 and Nike Structure Triax 15 fit me best.  Thanks Nike.

Now for the tools that have helped me reach my goals:

1. Nike+ GPS – tracks runs, pace, calories, goals, and more.  Love this for so many reasons.  Find it here for your iphone.

2. Runner’s World – the magazine and online both provide the tools to be stronger and faster.  Click here

3. KT Tape – Treats and prevents sports injuries.  Best out there! Click here

4. POTSC – honored to be part of this group, great motivation. Click here

Thank you to Nike, Runner’s World, KT Tape, to my family, and friends who inspire me and have helped me achieve this goal.  Now it’s time for a well deserved nap!

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Running

Leave a Reply

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
