Shoes, Orphans, Kenya, and the Gospel Part Three

     I believe that we are eternal.  I believe that God has called and made a way for me to travel in His name to Kenya.  I believe that God loves us because He made us.  I believe that I am declared righteous before God not because of any merit on my own but because of the shed blood of Jesus that paid the price for sin.  I believe that most often, I am my own worst enemy.  I believe that God acts according to what will bring Him the most glory and in turn be for my greatest good.

This post is going to be full of links about what has been stirring in my heart and head as I continue to pack shoes for the trip to Kenya.  I have not been sleeping well.  It seems I cannot shut off my brain at night thinking of the impact this trip will have on me and wondering how God will use it for His glory.  I know that I do not have to have His story spelled out in order to obey.  I don’t have to know how God is going to use these shoes to minister to these orphans at Fiwagoh. (www.fiwagoh.org) This past week over breakfast with a friend, we talked about the vapor that is life.  How arrogant of us to assume we know the whole story of how God is working when we have only seen a still framed snapshot?  I am often guilty of trying to figure out how God is going to work out situations in my life.

Today’s sermon was more evidence of the lesson that is being stirred in my heart.  Shoes are a secondary need around the world.  The primary need is food, water, shelter, sponsorship and the gospel.  What is the gain if all we give is only given to extend earthly life with no emphasis on the eternal?  Benevolence, compassion, and ministering to the poor are commands of Scripture.

1 John 3:16-17 NIV

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.  If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

The goal is eternity.  Changing lives whether through shoes, water, sponsorship, and prayer are all rooted in the goal of making much of Jesus with what He has entrusted to us for the sake of His great name.  Below you will find a list of ways to get involved.  I simply ask that you look at each one with an open hand and heart to allow the Lord to lead you where He would have you give and support.

www.1wayministries.org – mission trips, evangelism, and child sponsorship

www.soles4souls.org  – shoe distribution to those in need around the world

www.toms.com  – Buy a pair of shoes and they give a pair to a child in need

www.neverthirstwater.org  builds wells for the gospel and community sustainability

www.amazima.org – child sponsorship, orphan care, and school (this is who God led me to in child sponsorship, picture below!)

www.myfathershouseintl.org  – child sponsorship, education, orphan care

www.hello-somebody.com  $25 watch feeds 100 children in efforts to breaks the cycle of poverty.

www.vaporsports.org mission trips, humanitarian support and discipleship in third world countries

My prayer is that our eyes and hearts are lifted towards eternity.  Thank you for your continued prayers in preparation for Kenya.  I will post specific request and itinerary the week of October 23rd.

Winnie, age 6, sponsored through Amazima

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace
One comment on “Shoes, Orphans, Kenya, and the Gospel Part Three
  1. […] Orphans, Kenya, and the Gospel Part Three « formerly a Jacob 9 de outubro de 2011 Origem: https://davidagraves.wordpress.com/2011/10/09/shoes-orphans-kenya-and-the-gospel-part-three/ The primary need is food, water, shelter, sponsorship and the gospel. What is the gain if all we […]

Leave a Reply

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
