Remember

Deuteronomy 8:2 “Remember how the LORD your God.” Moses goes on to recount how God freed His people from their captivity, met their needs, and sustained them. Why do I want to rush through the pain, the wounds and wounding, scars, and refining that God is doing in my life? Why am I daily tempted to daydream of the day when all this pain is gone?

God, however, wants me to live close by never forgetting the pain and consequences of sin, the joy that comes from sin being exposed while stepping into the truth, and the sweetness of fellowship. (even if everyone else walks away as they deal with their own stuff God never leaves and he never forsakes.)

Grace has always existed with God (if God is gracious, which He is, then one of His characteristics is graciousness. Therefore, grace was created but always was) and designed for all. If I try and move further away from the reality of what sin cost, I begin to attach stipulations or conditions on what grace means to others. Solomon is proclaimed as the wisest one who ever lived but rarely do people reference that later in his life when he was building altars to other gods. How could the wisest man who ever lived stray so far from the One True God? It starts the day we wake up and our “troubles” are far behind us, the wife is happy, money is in the bank, bills are paid, and we are doing “alright.” It starts the moment a person forgets that he/she is morally, ethically, and spiritually bankrupt before Holy God. We not only live before Him and approach his throne with nothing to offer Him but we each come bearing a debt that is beyond our repayment.

There is not one act of kindness, no good deed, no right choices, or life of purity that we can live that will add one ounce to the Glory of God.

When is the last time you stepped out of a lie, an addiction, poor boundaries, or just yourself to confess that you are bankrupt? I would dare say that there are very few moments that this occurs without a catalyst of some sort; confrontation, breakdown in the relationship, a wayward email, phone records, or even someone who loves you enough to speak truth into your life without regard to your response. No one wants to admit he/she is destitute. We continue to perpetuate this lie that if we are somehow good, keep things “in order,” play our role in the façade, or that others somehow need us, then we feel better about ourselves as compared to others’ sin. Grace screams from the rooftop that no one is worthy, but all can freely receive because of God’s covenant to us through His Son, Jesus Christ.

Micah 7:7-9 states, “But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me. Do not gloat over me, my enemy! Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be my light. Because I have sinned against him, I will bear the Lord’s wrath, until he pleads my case and establishes my right. He will bring me out into the light; I will see his righteousness.”

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace
One comment on “Remember
  1. Larry Maynor says:

    Praise God for the sweetness of victory and transformation in the everlasting way, while I still recall the bitterness of my selfish ways.

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
