Every scar has a story

My nephew recently fell and busted open his lower lip requiring two stitches.  He was scared as much as he was in pain.  I showed him my own scars to show him that there was healing even though he was in pain now.  I showed him the scars on my shoulder from surgery to repair a torn labrum when a man irresponsibly ran a red light going fifty-five miles an hour.  I showed him my right forefinger where I closed a knife on my hand trying to remove a spike from a pair of golf shoes that required six stitches.  I was not denying his pain but consoling him in the healing that would come from his experience.  There is always a story behind the scar.

We shift the attention this week to the torturing and killing of Jesus Christ, the fulfillment of God’s promises, and the glory that is a Risen Savior who conquered the sting of death, sin, and the grave.  Every scar tells a story.  Isaiah 53:5 by his wounds we are healed.  I love the Word of God.  I find healing for my sin and sin nature in the cross of Jesus Christ as the redemptive act of God alone to ransom my soul to Himself.

I have to be truthful in the story about the scars. Jesus gave Himself as the sacrifice to pay the sin debt for all creation once and for all.  Humans were unable and still are unable to make atonement for our transgressions against Holy God.  We only find redemption in the cross of Jesus Christ and the shedding of His blood.  Have you ever made up a story to make the wounding seem more heroic or adventurous?  I have.  Who wants to say they slipped and fell on a wet floor to dislocate their elbow?  That comes across as aloof or clumsy.  It sounds more interesting and live saying that this old lady was walking along, tripped, and in trying to catch her you landed awkwardly dislocating the elbow.  Owning my own wounding and the scars I have inflicted on others is a good step in making amends and God providing healing.  There is no way to paint my lying, deception, theft, manipulation and attempt at control any other way than ugly and wounding of many people.  Only God can provide healing for the pain my sin has caused.  Only God could redeem humanity to Himself by accepting the perfect sinless sacrifice of His only Son, Jesus Christ.  There is healing to be found from your wounding and the wounding of others.  You have to believe the story of God’s only Son.  You have to tell the story of the scars.  By his wounds we are healed, that is God’s promise based on His covenant to us.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace
2 comments on “Every scar has a story
  1. Cj says:

    Correct me if I am wrong, but when Jesus reappeared to his disciples after his resurrection, did he not show his scars on his hands, the ultimate scars, to prove he was truly Jesus? Or did i hear that from someone who told someone who said they were there and they saw it? I dunno, but talk about having a story behind a scar, imagine Jesus telling his nephew about that one….. Now this was when I was hanging on this wooden pole and this Roman soldier stuck me with a spear, and this is where they whipped and beat me, and this is where the thorns from the crown, and….. Amazing! Thanks David!

  2. davidagraves says:

    John 20:26&27 A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”

    What a moment for us to hold to as we live in our weakness and the strength of His promise fulfilled!

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
