Sowing Seed

No matter what has ever happened to me or who has hurt me, I am not excused from my sin or sin nature that makes me a splinter in the cross of Jesus Christ.  God has been nurturing my heart recently to receive some fundamental truths of faith in Christ Jesus.

Sin has consequences, whether they are sins of the intentional or unintentional.  Sin affects those I love, the church, and me.  The consequences may not be instant but they are seeds that are planted in my heart that will be made evident after the next rain.  We are constantly planting seeds; the way we treat our spouse, what we watch, the things we believe, the words we hear and say, the books we read and the daily choices to act or not act are all seeds.  The parable of the seed found in Luke 8. http://read.ly/Luke8.5.NIV

In the same way, when I read the Word of God, meditate on His truths, spend time in prayer for my weaknesses, sin, and desperation for Him, I am planting seeds of righteousness that will spill over into the lives of those I love, the church, as well as myself.  As I have written past sins and lies in my inventory and journal, a constant theme in my unhealthy behavior has been the times that I was not consistently in the Word of God or spending time in prayer.  God used this to resonate the idea that seeds are revealed after the rain.

There is another storm coming into your life.  It is guaranteed.  Christians are promised suffering.  It may be in your spouse’s life.  It may be your deepest sin revealed.  It may be a storm that brings about purification breaking up the old soil and tilling your heart for a new crop that God desires for your life.  For your sake, for the sake of those you love, for the sake of the church, and for the glory of OUR Risen Savior do not forsake time alone with God today in prayer, meditation, and the treasuring of His Word.  It is the life source for our lives.  We cannot live apart from it.  God will reveal himself first in His Word.  The psalmist describes God as the shade he depends on Psalm 121:5 http://read.ly/Ps121.5.NIV.  We can grow the most in the cool of the day under the shade of God.  Continue to plant seeds of righteousness in your life and allow God to cultivate and grow them according to His plan for His glory alone.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace

Leave a Reply

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
