Choices Today

This morning, I woke up at four a.m. and couldn’t get this imagery out of my mind. Most people including myself have given something worn down or almost broken to the church because we were replacing it with something new. As I was wrestling with why we give the church leftovers in the name of benevolence, God immediately spoke to my heart that I do this any time I am not seeking His will through Bible Study, prayer, and meditation.

The subtle lies attack me from the moment I wake up: what do I need to do today, what is for breakfast, I need to make a list of things for the grocery store, let me check facebook before breakfast, or I will see what on the news this morning. One things rolls into another and before I realize what lies I am buying into, I have forsaken time alone with my Heavenly Father. I miss out on Him singing over me. I am not still in His presence. I do not take my cares, fears, and desperation to him placing my day, life, and surrendered will into a proper perspective of His glory.

I then go about my day passing out “used” mercy, grace, hope, and encouragement to myself, to those I come in contact with, and most painfully to those I love. Doesn’t your soul need the freshness of God’s word daily? Doesn’t your spouse deserve the new of your heart refreshed in the Lord ready to serve them for His glory? Doesn’t your local body of believers deserve a renewed passion from time spent on your face communing with a Holy God? Don’t be surprised in your frustration of life when you are operating your life around one hour this past Sunday to be your “new” all week. Give and receive the new instead of the used today.

Lamentations 3:22-23

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Grace

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
