My heart in Worship

I have heard people with good intentions attempt to encourage someone in a storm by saying, “hold on, one day when we get to heaven, we will get all the answers.” I recognize another subtle lie that I have bought into with my wayward and wicked heart. I have based my worship and belief of God on what he can do, has done, or possibly will do. I have based my worship on my perspective of how I feel or want to feel. I have elevated gifts above the giver. I have worshiped him as healer, sustainer, calmer of the storm, provider, protector, and deliverer. These are all important and God is due each of these ascribed to him but these are about what he has done.
When I worship God for who He is without answers, my heart is seeking him and not his gifts. I am being drawn to Him and He is drawing near to me. He is the gift. God is faithful. God is Holy. God is righteous. God is always the same. God is Merciful. God is Sovereign. God is just.
When I leave this fallen broken world and enter into his presence, every answer is revealed to me. It is revealed when I see Jesus face to face. He is the answer. He does not have to provide answers. As I worship him today in my time of prayer and how I treat others, I will ask myself “am I worshiping God for what he does or who He is?”

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Grace

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
