Move that bus!

You know the show. It comes on Sunday nights. This phrase with fifteen minutes left in the show causes me to cry EVERY week. I cry every time I watch it. It can be a rerun. I will cry. I don’t have to watch the episode and know what desperate plight the family is in because I am drawn to that moment.
The first thing that always pierces my heart is when the bus rolls away and the emotion that overtakes the individuals. I have watched grown men fall to their knees speechless and weep. I have seen kids so excited that all they can do is scream “Oh my gosh” while jumping up and down hugging anyone and everyone who is close by. My heart pauses as a struggling mother just stands there taking in what is before her. Their reaction for the rest of the show is how I picture grace. When I realize the depravity of my human heart, the lives I have personally wounded, my sins that have caused distance between a Holy God and his beloved, and the unfathomable measures God took to provide a sacrifice for me because he loved me so much then this moment should be my reaction time and time again. The host begins to show off the house to the family explaining how the home is customized to meet their needs. The family continues to verbalize the grace being poured over them and their thankfulness is evident. God has done the same for me. He loves me with an everlasting love. God knows that my heart is a desert that longs for encouraging words and affirmation. I kneel humble before Him when I open his word and walk through what he says about me; loved with an everlasting love, that I belong to Him, nothing can separate me from his hand, his compassion never ends, his faithfulness extends to all generation, he is faithful when I am faithless, his strength is made perfect in my weakness, that He is with me always, he has a place prepared for me after this life, and that He will return to claim what belongs to Him. When I ponder and treasure all these things in my heart, I am filled with gratitude of the Holy God who has opened the heavens over me to show his love for me.
As I am realizing the depth of God’s grace that he has poured on me, it should affect how I live and treat others. Later today, a golfer will take to the world stage through the media and offer some statement about his sin that was made public. Many stories, theories, and he should have said will be offered for public consumption after he speaks. Most people are ready and willing to give their opinion or insight on the sins of others.
I don’t have to have an opinion about what he should say or do, God has already done that in his word. James 5:17 “confess YOUR sin to one another so that YOU may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” Anytime I am tempted to dwell on the sins of others, how they should have to pay for those sins, and how others should treat them as a result of their sin, I can immediately recognize that this is a lie and smooth temptation of a wayward heart to feel better about my own life. When he speaks today, I picture myself having to confess everything: lies, manipulation, attempts of controlling others, and theft. I can place myself in his shoes because the sins I commit today caused Holy God to unleash and pour out His wrath towards sin on His Son, Jesus Christ.
We are the people of the second chance. We each have stood behind that bus and had grace revealed to us. We each sin daily. The world will know Him by our love for one another. Watch the show this week and I hope when you hear them say “move that bus” that you will allow God to do that in your heart.

I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. I am embracing the brokenness of my sin and sin nature, that apart from God through the work of Jesus Christ, I can do nothing. I am a work in progress surrounded by people who love the Lord. I want to know my story and be able to see Christ and myself in others.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Grace

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Ikuna

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Older posts
